Med One to One Fall/Winter TWENTY NINETEEN ISSUE 61

Employee Spotlights

Ian Black Biomed Technician Manager Ian Black I have had the amazing opportunity to work for Med One Group for the past nine years now in the Biomedical Department. I feel so blessed to be in the position I am in and to work for such a great, family-friendly company. My Biomedical background all started working in a dialysis clinic where I maintained all the dialysis machines, the reverse osmosis water plant, as well as working as a hemodialysis technician when patients were coming in for their treatments.

I have been married to my wife Riki for ten years, together we have three kids: Milo, who is seven; Finch, who is three; and Rainy, who is almost one year old. As a family, we love anything to do with the outdoors, we love hiking, fishing, and mostly enjoy camping in the high country. Every year my wife and I really enjoy going out bow hunting and trying to harvest a mule deer. She is the real-life Katniss Everdeen and was able to harvest a deer with her traditional recurve bow two years ago. The thing I enjoy most about hunting is hiking and just seeing where your feet can take you. I have been to some of the most desolate and high places with no one else in sight for days, being out there is very relaxing.

My primary hobbies are woodworking and videography. I have a little side business that I get commissioned to make custom furniture for some really awesome clients. I also have a YouTube channel where I will post build-a-longs and tutorials. My two favorite commission pieces I ever built were for a family that had cut down their grandpa's walnut tree 20 years ago when the tree had died. This tree was very sentimental to them as this was the tree they would climb every time they went to visit their grandparents. The family had kept the wood in their family barn for the two decades while the wood air-dried. I was able to take this wood and make two custom desks, one in a modern design, and the other was a mid-century modern style design.

I cannot wait to continue to grow Med One. I have seen so much growth in the nine years that I have been here, and I can only imagine what good things will come with nine more.

Theresa Warren Territory Sales Manager Theresa Warren I was born and raised in Orange, California. I come from a large Italian family with five brothers and sisters! My parents have been married for 58 years!

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Speech Communications and an Associate of Arts degree in Liberal Arts. I graduated from California State University in Long Beach. I have worked in the pharmaceutical and medical industry for 20 years. I really enjoy this industry because I can help people as well as make an excellent living!

I am a territory sales manager, and I cover Los Angeles and parts of Orange County for my position. I have been working at Med One for close to 1 1/2 years. I plan on working at Med One for the rest of my career! I love working at Med One! I love the company culture, the owners, the managers, and all of my colleagues. It's a very fun, fast-paced, and challenging position. Every day is different, so there's never a dull moment! I enjoy identifying problems and trying to find ways to solve them. I love the fact that my job involves saving lives every day!

I love ballet dancing! I've been studying it since I was a little girl, and I still do ballet regularly to keep in shape. I love to travel with my husband, Thomas Warren, and I love to bowl as well as play pool! I love spending time with our children Daniel, Eric, and Jennifer. I'm very proud of them! We also have a Jack Russell Terrier whom we have named Biggie Smalls after the famous rapper! I speak English, Spanish, Italian, and I can read French!

I love to garden with my husband, and I like to ride my scooter around the neighborhood! I love to network with my friends and colleagues to help people find jobs and potential life partners! I like to go antique shopping with my sister Lisa and find treasures! I like to tell jokes with my son Daniel, I love to go shopping with my daughter Jennifer, and I especially like to watch my son Eric umpire on the weekends!

Angelica Escareno Equipment Delivery Driver Angelica Escareno I was born in a small town in Mexico, and at the age of 3 1/2, my parents made the great move to the U.S. I'm very thankful and appreciative of my parents for changing our lives for the better. I am the second oldest of five children and grew up in the beautiful city of Santa Barbara. I had lived my entire life there up until five years ago when I moved to Riverside. I am an aunt to two nieces and two nephews. I only have one nephew that lives near me, who I used to babysit; he just turned three years old this year, and every time I see him, I make sure to treasure every moment.

In my spare time, what I enjoy the most, is going out to special events such as concerts and sporting events, walking my dog to the park, going to the beach, and of course, going shopping.

I attended Santa Barbara City College and received my Associate's degree. I then transferred to Cal-State Channel Islands in Camarillo, to pursue being an elementary school teacher.

Working for Med One as an equipment tech/driver for over a year has allowed me to learn so much about the medical field that otherwise I would never have known. With this job, I familiarize myself with so many different types of equipment and have even learned to test a few units myself. One thing that I can say about this job is that I enjoy the people that I work with because I always tend to leave knowing I had a good laugh throughout the day.

Prev Article Next Article